Trash Walk

There are at least a half dozen things I should be doing right now, but I’m so stinking proud of my kid that I just had to blog RIGHT NOW!

A week or two ago, we were driving along commiserating about trash on the side of the road and together came up with the idea of a trash walk.  The plan started with us taking a walk around our neighborhood with trash bags in hand, collecting trash wherever we saw it.  The Bug has extended that idea to gathering everyone who has ever been considered a family friend, parking in a store parking lot and tackling the trash problem as a team.  (We might work up to that idea, so be prepared.)

I mentioned it in the car and promptly forgot about it.  The Bug, however, has not forgotten about it.  She has pestered me and begged me and pleaded with me and declared just about every day as “the perfect day to pick up trash.”  Well, today I finally did something about it.  We put on our rubber gloves, got ourselves some garbage bags, strapped up the dog, and headed out.  We painstakingly walked down to the end of our road and back and picked up every cigarette butt, old store ad, expended firework, and water bottle along the way.

The Bug did not complain once. We were hot and sweaty. We were thirsty. The dog was panting her head off. The Bug wanted to keep on the move. Her only complaint was when I declared our walk over.  What she wanted to do was take a break then hop in the car to find a dirty parking lot near you.

So, to that end… here are some pictures of my favorite kid cleaning up the neighborhood.

Gloves on and ready to go!

Gloves on and ready to go!

Lots of trash at the unoccupied house down the street!

Lots of trash at the unoccupied house down the street!

Get it!

Get it!

Cute trash collector

Cute trash collector

A girl, her dog, and her trash bag

A girl, her dog, and her trash bag

Time to cool off!

Time to cool off!

And of course, here are some pro tips for you.

  • Gloves! There is some seriously gross stuff out there.  Wear gloves.  Bring extra gloves with you!
  • Go early in the morning.  We went right before lunch and it was hot and muggy.  Earlier the better.
  • Make it fun! It’s amazing how much fun you can have with “The 1812 Overture” using only the words “cigarette butt.”
  • Use the words “I’m proud of you” early and often. It’s not lost on me that this is abnormal kid behavior. I want The Bug to know that I appreciate her love for the world God created.

And, hey! If you want to join her devious plan of bringing all our friends together to pick up trash, let me know.  We’ll make it work!

 

Leave a Reply

